top of page

Parenting styles...what a croc of shit

Ok so we all know there are certain rules when it comes to having kids, dont leave them in the bath alone, dont feed them too many sweets, dont let them swallow bleach...that sort of thing but when it comes to parenting styles, who really cares? We have all been there, reaching for books or looking online at what parenting style suits us, what kind of thing works for your child, what way you should shout at them, praise them, play with them, but do we really need this advice?

Everyone needs advice sometimes, I ring my mum if I need a recipe, or if DB has a rash and I need someone with more experience than me, do I ring her when DB or MB are having a hissy fit and ask her what strategy is best? Hell no, I just get on with it, I do what suits me best in that moment.

I read a post the other day about giggle parenting....are you for real!? It went on and on about how parents should make their children laugh and make every situation into a laughing matter, well im sorry but if parents dont want to make their children laugh then they should not be parents.....who said this was a parenting style? seriously!!

Just because sandra takes upon an authoriatarian parenting style and makes sure the regime is no more than 1 second out of sync doesnt mean that Im going to do the same, Im sorry sandra but that wont happen in this house, I do what suits me and my kids and thats the thing, MY kids and ME...not anyone else. Who is anyone to tell you how to raise your child?

Im quite laid back with my kids and well in general every day life but I can be firm and tough when I need to be and Im sure every other good parent out there can do what they need to do when they need to do it, so next time you reach for a book, or go to google something about parenting STOP, BREATH and listen to yourself, do what suits you and not other people, do what you think is right, we will make mistakes and thats what its about, trial and error to find out what suits your situation the best.

Thanks for reading

MBDB

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page