top of page

"You have no idea"

I would have many a chats with my mum, many off them are just the same thing over and over again, we have a laugh, we get wound up if its somethinig were angry about, we have at least 2 cups of tea and all while my little DB and sometimes MB run about the place and act crazy but for some reason when I'm at mums theres a sense of calm, I dont feel like I have to shout as much, there must be something in the air or it could be the fact that my mum has brought 4 children up brilliantly and the fact that her wisdom and know how are there with me.

So yesterday we were talking about kids behaving badly, things we did when we were younger, things my kids do and so on and then she went on to say that younger people would say to her "you have no idea what its like" and my dads work mates have also said to him "youve no idea" and I had to laugh, they have only brought up 4 kids, 7 grandkids and helped out with other children all through their life so yea they have no idea what its like, non at all..........ARGH

Then I got to thinking about how things have changed since I was a kid and my kids, for one I was able to go outside and entertain myself for hours on end, playing games like 'what time is it Mr wolf', curbsy, making dens, kissy kats (not my favourite) and many hand clapping games like 'under the bramble bushes' and so on. My kids wouldnt have a clue how to play curbsy, they love making dens but only for 5 minutes, if kids now a days go out its a game of in and out every 2 minutes. What I'm trying to get at is the fact that when I was a kid mum and dad were left alone in the house pretty much all day as we were all out playing untill the street lights came on and now!? HA Im lucky if I get 5 minutes to go pee in peace.

Tablets, phones, netflix, dvds, none of these things did I have and none of them did I need, none of my favourite memories as a child involve a tv or a phone, they all involve being outside, playing with kids. So in a way the grandparents generation shall we say dont really have any idea what its like, dont get wrong they know everything about sickness, about how to cure a sore knee, how to tuck them into bed and read them their favourite story but when it comes to how evolved technology has got and how children are with it now a days they have no idea!

I remember being at mums friends hosues and just having to amuse myself, and I did and that was it no questions asked, if I take my two to a friends house? HAHA its like a broken record of me saying "go and find something to do" over and over again.

I suppose what Im trying to say is things are so different now from what they were and that comment "you have no idea" has some truth to it but lets face it were would we be without our parents?

thanks for reading

MBDB

x

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page